Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
You can use the commands in the Highlight Changes dialog box to choose which
changes to track. Clearing the When, Who, and Where check boxes makes Excel track
all changes, whereas selecting a check box and using the commands to specify a time
frame, users, or areas of the workbook limits which changes are highlighted. Each user’s
changes are displayed in a unique color. When you point to a cell that contains a change,
the date and time when the change was made and the name of the user who made it
appear as a ScreenTip.
After you and your colleagues finish modifying a workbook, anyone with permission to
open the workbook can decide which changes to accept and which changes to reject.
To start the process, click the Review tab. In the Changes group, click Track Changes, and
then click Accept Or Reject Changes. After you clear the message box that indicates Excel
will save your workbook, the Select Changes To Accept Or Reject dialog box opens. From
the When list, you can choose which changes to review. The default choice is Not Yet
Reviewed, but you can also click Since Date to open a dialog box in which you can enter
the starting date of changes you want to review. To review all changes in your workbook,
clear the When, Who, and Where check boxes.
Tip After you and your colleagues have finished making changes, you should turn off workbook
sharing to help ensure that you are the only person able to review the changes and decide
which to accept.
When you are ready to accept or reject changes, click OK. The Accept Or Reject Changes
dialog box opens and displays the first change, which is described in the body of the dialog
box. Clicking the Accept button finalizes the change; clicking the Reject button removes the
change, restores the cell to its previous value, and erases any record of the change. Clicking
Accept All or Reject All finalizes all changes or restores all cells to their original values, but
you should choose one of those options only if you are absolutely certain you are doing
the right thing.
Important Clicking the Undo button on the Quick Access Toolbar or pressing Ctrl+Z will not
undo the operation.
You can create an itemized record of all changes made since the last time you saved the
workbook by adding a History worksheet to your workbook. To add a History worksheet,
click Track Changes in the Changes group, and then click Highlight Changes to open the
Highlight Changes dialog box. Select the List Changes On A New Sheet check box. When
you click OK, a new worksheet named History opens in your workbook. Excel will delete
the History worksheet the next time you save your workbook.
Search JabSto ::

Custom Search