Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Sharing and Synchronizing Notebooks
If you click E-Mail A Link, an Outlook message window opens with a link to the location of
the notebook you just shared and some boilerplate introductory text. Address the message,
personalize the text if you want, and send it.
CAUTION !
Although you can share a notebook from a local folder (by saving it in the Public
Documents folder on your PC, for example), we don’t recommend this. If you turn off the PC
or allow it to sleep, changes you make won’t be available to other PCs that are trying
to sync with the shared folder. In the case of a desktop and notebook PC, you have to
remember to have both computers turned on and connected to the network before
your changes in one location are reflected in the other. If the shared notebook is saved
in an always-on location, such as a local file server or a Windows Live SkyDrive folder,
this synchronization is much more reliable.
How do you stop sharing a remote notebook and return it to your local PC? Right-click
the notebook icon in the Navigation bar, click Properties, and then click Change Location.
Choose a local folder in the Choose A Sync Location For This Remote Notebook dialog box
and click Select. Doing so copies the notebook to its new location and begins synchronizing
the copy in the OneNote cache to the new location. (You can use this same technique to
move a shared notebook to a different shared folder.)
It’s easy to spot a remote notebook in the Navigation bar. Look for the Sync Status icon to
the right of the binder icon and notebook name. It displays one of three status messages: a
green check mark when the remote notebook is connected and up-to-date, green spinning
arrows when the notebook is in the process of syncing, and a red circle with a slash (the
universal No symbol) over the sync icon to indicate that the remote notebook is not
available online.
When you click the Sync Status icon, you see the Shared Notebook Synchronization dialog
box shown in Figure 17-7.
Normally, OneNote detects when you’re connected to a remote notebook and
automatically synchronizes its contents at regular intervals. If you make changes while you’re
disconnected from the network, those changes are synced as soon as you reconnect, with
no manual intervention required of you. The Work Ofline option allows you to suspend
replication even when you’re connected to the network, an option you might choose if
you want to avoid unnecessary network traffic or distractions from changes made by other
users of the shared notebook. To sync manually, use any of the following techniques:
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search