Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Figure 9–6 . On the move: Sheet3, en route to a new location
But if you’ve added many sheets to the workbook, you won’t be able to see all the sheet
tabs at the same time (see Figure 9–7).
Figure 9–7. Not all there: You can’t see sheets 1 through 5
By clicking the arrows shown on the left in Figure 9–8, you can reveal additional sheets
in either direction.
Figure 9–8. Exposing hidden sheet tabs by clicking the arrows
The left-pointing arrow accompanied by the vertical bar will, when clicked, reveal the
first sheet tab; the right-pointing arrow with the vertical bar will reveal the last tab in your
current complement. But these arrow maneuvers don’t take you “into” another sheet;
they just reveal the sheet tabs. If you’re currently working on Sheet10 when you start
clicking, you’ll stay inside Sheet10.
If you want to delete a sheet, right-click the sheet tab and select the Delete option on the
context menu. If the sheet has data on it, the prompt in Figure 9–9 will appear.
Figure 9–9. Note this prompt well—if you click Delete, the data on the sheet will be permanently deleted.
That prompt means business. What it’s saying is that if you click Delete, the sheet will be
dispatched irrevocably to the digital void—that is, you won’t be able to undo the
deletion. What you’d have to do, then, if you did delete the sheet in error, is resort to the
ancient plan B—just close the workbook without saving it, and then reopen it. That
strategy is messy, because you may lose other changes you may have wanted to save,
but at least you’ll get your sheet back.