Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Deleting cells, columns, and rows
When you delete (or insert) partial rows or columns, it’s easy to misalign data. For example,
in Figure 8-14 we deleted cells A6:E9 with the default Shift Cells Up option selected. This
eliminated the cells referred to by the formulas in column F, producing #REF errors. In
addition, the column F totals in rows 13 through 20 now refer to the data in rows 9 through 16.
This is a case where we should have cleared the cell contents rather than deleted the cells.
CAUTION !
Although you can generally use Undo to cancel a deletion, you should take heed of
these important points. Before you delete an entire column or row, scroll through your
worksheet to be sure you’re not erasing important information that is not currently
visible. Deleting cells that are referred to by formulas can be disastrous, as Figure 8-14
illustrates. Finally, when you delete a column or row referred to by an argument of a
function, Excel modifies the argument, if possible, to account for the deletion. This
adaptability is a compelling reason to use functions wherever possible. For more about
using functions, see Chapter 13, “Using functions.”
Figure 8-14 You can create errors when you delete the wrong cells.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search