Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Blocking external content
Email is increasingly used to deliver marketing information to current and potential
customers. Many companies include pictures in their marketing messages to help explain their
product or to make the message more attractive and noticeable, but these pictures can
make email messages large. To avoid this problem, some companies include links to pictures
that are hosted on their server. When you preview or open the message, the pictures are
displayed, but they aren’t actually part of the message.
Some junk email senders use this same method to include web beacons in their messages.
Web beacons are small programs that notify the sender when you read or preview the email
message. The notification confirms that your email address is valid, and as a result, you
might receive more junk email.
To help protect your privacy, Outlook includes features that block external content such
as pictures and sounds. In addition to helping ensure your privacy, this blocking technique
can save bandwidth resources, because you choose whether to download images and
sounds, instead of Outlook downloading them automatically when you open a message.
By default, Outlook 2013 blocks external content to and from all sources other than those
defined in the Safe Senders list and Safe Recipients list. When you open or preview a
message that contains blocked content, an InfoBar in the message header provides options for
handling the blocked content.
To view the blocked content in an individual email message, click the InfoBar, and then click
Download Pictures.
You can change the way Outlook handles external content from the Automatic Download
page of the Trust Center dialog box. You can choose from among the following options, all
of which are turned on by default:
Don’t download pictures automatically.
Permit downloads in email messages from senders and to recipients defined in the
Safe Senders and Safe Recipients lists.
Permit downloads in RSS items, in SharePoint discussion boards, or from websites in
the Trusted Zone security zone.
Warn before downloading content when editing, forwarding, or replying to messages.
Under most circumstances, the security provided by the default settings far outweighs
the slight inconvenience of manually downloading content. Many messages that contain
blocked pictures are marketing messages that might not be of interest to you.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search