Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
The options in the Message Handling section of this dialog box are as follows:
n Close Original Message on Reply or Forward: When you select Forward or Reply in a
message that you received, the original message is closed.
n Save Copies of Messages in Sent Items Folder: When you send a message, a copy is
saved in the Sent Items folder (recommended!).
n Automatically Save Unsent Messages: Messages you have started composing but not
sent are saved in the Drafts folder.
n Remove Extra Line Breaks in Plain Text Messages: Unneeded line breaks are stripped
from plain text messages.
n Shade Message Headers when Reading Mail: When you are reading a message that
contains quoted components, Outlook will use subtle shading to mark the quoted section
(this does not always work properly, I have found).
n Advanced E-Mail Options: Click this button to view and set advanced email options
(explained in the following section).
n Tracking Options: Click this button to view and set tracking options (explained later in
The On Replies and Forwards section of this dialog box determines what Outlook does when you
reply to a message or forward a message. You set each independently but the options are essentially
n Do Not Include Original Message: Replies are sent without the original message. Not
applicable to forwarded messages.
n Attach Original Message: Replies and forwards are sent with the original message
included as an attachment.
n Include Original Message Text: Replies and forwards are sent with the original message
included as part of the new message.
n Include and Indent Original Message Text: Replies and forwards are sent with the
original message included as part of the new message, indented with respect to the other
parts of the message.
n Prefix Each Line of the Original Message: Replies and forwards are sent with the
original message included as part of the new message, with each line of the original message
prefixed by what is entered in the Prefix Each Line With field (by default this is >).
The final option in this dialog box is Mark My Comments With. You use this option when you
prefer to reply to or forward messages with your comments included along with the original message
text. When this option is selected, your comments are each preceded by your name (or whatever
you specify) in brackets.