Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
The first option in this dialog box determines the level of filtering based on message content. There
are four levels to choose from:
n No Automatic Filtering: Messages are not filtered based on their content.
n Low: Only obvious spam is treated as such. Some spam will get through to your Inbox.
n High: More stringent spam rules are applied when scanning message content. Some
legitimate messages may be treated as spam.
n Safe Lists Only: Only messages from senders on your safe lists (explained later in this
chapter) are allowed through — all other messages are treated as spam regardless of their
content.
The other options in this dialog box are as follows:
n Permanently Delete...: If this option is selected, messages that Outlook considers to be
spam will be deleted rather than moved to the Junk E-mail folder. You may not want to
use this option unless you are sure that legitimate messages are not mistakenly being
tagged as spam.
n Disable Links...: Phishing messages (see sidebar) usually contain links to web pages
where you will be asked for confidential information such as passwords. If this option is
selected, Outlook will disable these links.
n Warn Me About...: A spoofed domain name is one that is not what it appears to be. For
example, a link might display www.microsoft.com but actually be a link to another domain.
If this option is selected, Outlook will warn you about possibly spoofed domain names in
a message.
n When Sending Email, Postmark...: If this option is selected, all messages you send will
be postmarked as an anti-spam measure. See the following section for more information
on postmarking.
Understanding Postmarking
Postmarking is a new technique designed to help in the fight against spam. Postmarking a
message adds to the time required to process and send it. For normal users who send dozens or even
Phishing
Phishing is a particularly dangerous kind of junk email. A phishing message pretends to be from a
company you do business with, for example PayPal or eBay. The message asks you to take some
seemingly legitimate action, such as resetting your password. When you follow the link to a web
site, the site looks just like the real thing, but it is not — it’s a fake web site set up by the phisher. The
end result is that some unscrupulous person now has your password and you can imagine the
possible consequences.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search