Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
The AutoArchive dialog box.
Here are the options available in this dialog box:
n Run AutoArchive Every: If this option is selected, Outlook will run AutoArchive
automatically at the selected interval — the default is 14 days. If this option is not selected,
you can run AutoArchive when desired by selecting Archive from the File menu (more
on this soon).
n Prompt Before AutoArchive Runs: If this option is selected, Outlook will prompt you
before AutoArchive runs. Otherwise it will run without notification.
n Delete Expired Items (E-mail Folders Only): Specifies that expired email items will be
deleted and not moved to the archive file.
n Archive or Delete Old Items: Determines whether remaining options in the dialog box
n Clean Out Items Older Than: Specifies the age at which items are archived. The default
is 6 months.
n Move Old Items To: If selected, old items (other than email items) are archived to the
specified archive file.
n Permanently Delete Old Items: If selected, old items are deleted and not archived.
n Apply These Settings to All Folders Now: Use your selected settings for all folders (as
opposed to individual archive settings for each folder, as described soon).
n Retention Policy Information: Some organizations set retention policies for Outlook
items when you are using an Exchange server. See Chapter 28 for more information on
using Outlook with an Exchange server.