Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Setting User Permissions Security is a primary concern for many organizations
that spend more and more time online. How can you be sure that only the
people with access to your meeting documents are viewing them? Is there a
way to secure the documents so that others can view but not modify them?
SharePoint Team Services uses a permissions-based system to allow varying
degrees of access to all the activities on a SharePoint site. The same permissions
system is used for shared workspaces, document workspaces, and meeting
workspaces. When you first create a meeting workspace, you have the option
of choosing which user group you want individuals to be assigned to. Different
user groups are granted different levels of accessibility to the site. For example,
you might allow some attendees full access to view, modify, upload, and delete
documents, and you might want to limit other attendees to simply reading the
materials posted online. The different user groups are as follows:
Reader is given read-only access to the site. This means the participant
can review all list items and read documents, but can’t make any
changes on the site or modify the documents in any way.
Contributor (which is assigned to each attendee by default) can add
content to existing document libraries and lists, delete items as
needed, and create new subwebs.
Web Designer can create new lists and document libraries and
customize pages and Web Parts.
Administrator has full control of the site and is able to set permissions,
create and delete sites, and control all aspects of site management.
You can view and modify the permissions in any workspace in SharePoint
Team Services by clicking Settings (in the top menu bar of the current page)
and selecting Manage Users in the Administration area. To view and change
permissions for a user, click the user name, and then click the Site Group to
which you want to assign the user. (See Figure 3-11, on the next page.)