Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Archiving for Posterity
that folder. Also, when you turn on AutoArchive for Outlook, the Deleted Items
folder is set to autoarchive using the default settings. If you don’t clean out
your Deleted Items folder, all the e-mails that you thought you’d never see
again will instead be archived for posterity. You should consider setting the
Deleted Items folder to not autoarchive.
Starting the archive process manually
You can archive messages anytime you want by following these steps:
1. Choose the File tab.
2. Click the Info button in the Navigation pane on the left.
3. Click the Cleanup Tools button.
4. Click the Archive button.
5. Follow the prompts; see Figure 6-10.
If you start the archive manually, you get slightly better control of the
process. You can
✓ Give a cutoff date for archiving items (say, the first of the year).
✓ Determine which folders to archive and where to send the archived
✓ Archive different Outlook folders to different archive files.
The disadvantage to all this control is that it’s possible to make an innocent
mistake and send archived items to a place you can’t find again easily. Try not
to change the name or location of the files to which your archived items are
sent. Outlook doesn’t provide much help with keeping track of archived files.