Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Arranging Your Messages
3. Select Clean Up Conversation.
All messages from the conversation that Outlook detects as redundant
are removed from all the folders they are in and moved to the Deleted
Items folder. Messages in the Sent folder stay put.
From the drop-down list, you can also select Clean Up Folder to clean
up all the conversations within the selected folder. Clean Up Folder &
Subfolders goes one step further and cleans up all conversations that
are in the selected subfolders and all subfolders. For instance, if you
created a Personal folder that lives inside your Inbox folder, selecting
the Inbox folder and then choosing Clean Up Folder & Subfolders
automatically cleans up all conversations in both folders.
Don’t be surprised if Outlook doesn’t remove many messages. Outlook
takes a rather conservative view on what it considers redundant, and it also
doesn’t move replies that have modified a previous message or messages
that have Follow Up flags. If you want to give Outlook more latitude with what
it can move when it cleans up a conversation, you need to change a few
settings:
1. Select the File tab and click the Options button.
The Outlook Options dialog box appears.
2. Click the Mail button.
The Mail settings appear.
3. Scroll down to the Conversation Clean Up section.
A number of options are listed that affect when Outlook will and won’t
move messages from a conversation; see Figure 6-14. Make adjustments
to the settings that best fit your needs.
Pay close attention to the Cleaned-Up Items Will Go to This Folder check
box. Outlook sends cleaned-up items to the Deleted Items folder by
default. But if you want to send cleaned-up items someplace else, such
as a folder in an archive file, this is where you make that change. Click
the Browse button and select where your cleaned-up items should go.
If you find that Outlook doesn’t move any messages when you click Clean Up,
someone probably made changes somewhere within the previous message
text in their message reply before clicking the Send button. To get Outlook
to clean up a conversation where this happens, make another change to
the Conversation Clean Up settings: Deselect the When a Reply Modifies a
Message, Don’t Move the Original check box. The danger in doing this is that
the text from previous messages may have been changed for good reason —
such as someone answering someone else’s questions within the text of the
original message.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search