Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Closing a Presentation
If you seem to have lost a file, rummage around in different folders to see
whether you can find it. Perhaps you saved a file in the wrong folder by accident.
Also, check the spelling of the filename. Maybe your fingers weren’t on the
home row when you typed the filename, so instead of Shakespeare1.pptx,
you saved the file as Djslrd[rstr2.pptx. I hate it when that happens.
The fastest way to open a file from the Open dialog box is to double-click
the file. This spares you from having to click the file once and then click OK.
Double-clicking also exercises the fast-twitch muscles in your index finger.
PowerPoint keeps track of the files you’ve recently opened and displays them
on the File menu. To open a file that you recently opened, click the File tab,
select Recent in Backstage View, and then inspect the list of files on the right
side of the menu. If the file that you want is in the list, click it to open it.
Closing a Presentation
Having finished and saved your presentation, you have come to the time to
close it. Closing a presentation is kind of like gathering your papers, putting
them neatly in a file folder, and returning the folder to its proper file drawer.
The presentation disappears from your computer screen. Don’t worry: It’s
tucked safely away on your hard drive where you can get to it later if you
need to.
To close a file, click the Close button that appears at the top right of the
PowerPoint window. Alternatively, you can click the File tab and then choose
Close, or use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+W. But clicking the Close button is
the easiest way to close a file.
You don’t have to close a file before exiting PowerPoint. If you exit
PowerPoint without closing a file, PowerPoint graciously closes the file for
you. The only reason that you might want to close a file is that you want to
work on a different file and you don’t want to keep both files open at the
same time.
If you’ve made changes since the last time you saved the file, PowerPoint
offers to save the changes for you. Click Save to save the file before closing or
click Don’t Save to abandon any changes that you’ve made to the file.
If you close all the open PowerPoint presentations, you might discover that
most of the PowerPoint commands have been rendered useless. (They are
grayed on the menu.) Fear not. If you open a presentation or create a new
one, the commands return to life.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search