Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Tracking and managing colleagues’ changes
You can use the commands in the Highlight Changes dialog box to choose which changes
to track. When the When, Who, and Where check boxes are selected, Excel will track all
changes. By selecting a check box and using the commands to specify a time frame, users,
or areas of the workbook, you can limit which changes are highlighted. Each user’s changes
are displayed in a unique color. When you point to a cell that contains a change, the date
and time when the change was made and the name of the user who made it appear as a
ScreenTip.
TIP Selecting the When check box and choosing the All option has the same effect as
clearing the check box.
After you and your colleagues finish modifying a workbook, anyone with permission to
open the workbook can decide which changes to accept and which changes to reject. To
start the process, click the Review tab. In the Changes group, click Track Changes, and then
click Accept Or Reject Changes. After you clear the message box that indicates Excel will
save your workbook, the Select Changes To Accept Or Reject dialog box opens. From the
When list, you can choose which changes to review. The default choice is Not Yet Reviewed,
but you can also click Since Date to open a dialog box in which you can enter the
starting date of changes you want to review. To review all changes in your workbook, clear the
When, Who, and Where check boxes.
TIP After you and your colleagues have finished making changes, you should turn off
workbook sharing to help ensure that you are the only person able to review the changes
and decide which to accept.
14
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search