Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Share & Track
The next section, Share & Track, appears only if you have outgoing email configured in Central
Administration for the farm. (I learned that the hard way; don’t let it happen to you.) It contains
only one button, Alert Me.
Alert Me The Alert Me button displays essentially the same drop-down menu as the one
on the Page ribbon, allowing you either to create an alert (a list item must be selected first) or
to go to the Manage My Alerts page. Alerts for a list item can be configured to trigger a
notification if a change is made to anything on the list, such as someone else changes any item
or if someone changes an item created or last modified by me. Also, if the list has any special
fields or functions (such as the Announcements list’s expiration field), an alert can be set to
notice if those fields are changed or an item is created with those fields filled with data.
Workflows
The last section of this ribbon bar, Workflows, contains two buttons, Workflows and
Approve/Reject.
Workflows The Workflows button is grayed out back in Figure 4.25, because there are no
workflows associated with the list in my example. If there were, clicking the button would
display the Workflows page for the item, where you could view the state of the workflows
associated with the list item and add them too.
WHAT IS A WORKFLOW?
A workflow is basically a series of automated tasks that streamline a process, such as sending an
email to the person assigned to a list item when someone changes a field from Started to Completed.
SharePoint Foundation has one workflow available to be configured out of the box (the Three-State
workflow), but you can create more by using SharePoint Designer 2010 or Visual Studio 2010. For more
about the Three-State workflow and workflows in general, see Chapter 7, “Creating Lists.”
Approve/Reject This button is a bit oddly placed in the Workflows section because it has
nothing to do with workflows. Lists and libraries can allow content approval to be enabled.
This means that any added or edited items have to be approved by a user with the
permission to do so (like an administrator) in order to appear on the list for anyone but the approver
and the editor/author. This button displays a box to either approve or reject the selected
object. If approved, it can be viewed by everyone on the list; if not approved or rejected, the
item can remain invisible to all but the author/editor and approver.
T H E L I S T T O O L S L I S T T A B
The ribbon bar buttons for this tab relate specifically to the list, not to selected items in the list.
This ribbon bar has seven sections, containing many buttons (Figure 4.27), some of which are
pretty tiny.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search