Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
New Folder This button allows you to create a new folder in the library, letting you then
organize files (and even more folders if necessary) in the folder. This option lets the library
maintain the same document structure as the file shares users might be familiar with. Also,
if a library gets too large, it is easy to display document items per folder than the whole lat
list of thousands.
Open & Check Out
The Open & Check Out section is unique to libraries. It contains the Edit Document, Check
Out, Check In, and Discard Check Out buttons. Remember that buttons can be grayed out and
unavailable, as you can see in Figure 4.38, if a document item is not selected in the library for
them to apply to or the library doesn’t have that feature enabled.
Edit Document Just like the New button, the Edit Document button needs Office to work,
because it is used to open a selected file to edit it. To be specific, Edit Document needs the
Office product associated with the selected file’s file type to work. But if you were to select a
Word file and click Edit Document, it would open the file in Word for you to edit. When you
save it in Word, it should save the changes to the document library.
Check Out Check Out, a button we originally saw on the Page ribbon, is used to mark a file
to be checked out for editing. When a file is checked out, it is set as read-only for all accounts
but the one that checked out the file. This lets that one user edit the file, helping avoid
simultaneous editing and change loss. Checkout can be configured in the library’s settings to be
required (a file cannot be edited without being checked out first). For more about checking
documents in and out, see Chapter 8.
Check In For any document that can be checked out, there has to be a way to check it back
in. The Check In button takes a document that you are done editing and changes its state to
checked in so it is no longer set to read-only and is available for others to edit.
Discard Check Out This button forces a document to be checked back in (discarding the
changes of the person who has it checked out). This function is useful if you need to
abandon changes you’ve made to a document while you had it checked out.
OVERRIDE?
Note that unlike the Page ribbon, this Documents ribbon for some reason doesn’t also offer the
Override Check Out option, which allows those with the correct permissions to discard the
checkout of other users.
Now with this version of SharePoint, Discard Check Out acts like Override Check Out does. Even
though the Discard Check Out button’s tooltip implies that the feature works only with items you
have checked out personally, that is true only if you don’t have the Override Check Out permission
enabled for your account (site administrators do by default; site members don’t). So if you are
looking for Override Check Out in a document library, it’s Discard Check Out now.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search