Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
the buttons in the section can be grayed out if they are not applicable, in other words, if their
function is not enabled or available.
Workflows This button is the same as the one for the Items ribbon for a list. It can be used
only if there is a workflow associated with the document item; otherwise, it’s grayed out. If
the button was active, you could click it and go to a page to see the status of the workflow,
manage it, or start a new one on the selected document.
Publish This button does not actually publish the selected document anywhere. Instead, it
promotes a minor version of a document to a major version—which, according to SharePoint,
is publishing the document. To explain further, you can set a library to allow versioning, with
two options. You can have lat versions, meaning that every time a document is saved to the
library a copy is saved in Version History, and a whole number assigned to that version (so
you can roll back to a previous version if your current saved changes were a terrible mistake).
Or you can have major and minor versions, with the option, when saving, to give the version
a whole number (making it major) or a decimal number following the last major version’s
number, such as 1.3, making it a minor or draft version.
If a document is a draft version, you can publish it up to a major version, changing that
version of a document to the next whole number, rather than its decimal version number. If the
button is grayed out, then versioning is not enabled.
Unpublish This button is what you click if you want to demote a document’s current
version down to a minor version from a whole number (so instead of being version number 2,
it’s 1.1). Equally as important as the Publish function, this button is also grayed out in my
example because versioning is not available for this library.
Approve/Reject This button, has, like its predecessor, nothing to do with workflows and is
the same as the Approve/Reject button in the Items ribbon for lists. Approve/Reject requires
Content Approval to be enabled for the library (and if it isn’t, the button is grayed out). When
it’s enabled, a document edited or saved to the library must be approved before anyone but
the author/editor and the approver can see it.
HIDDEN DRAFT
One of the big reasons content approval works the way it does is Draft Item Security. When you
enable Content Approval, the Draft Item Security setting becomes available, which gives you the
ability to display minor, or draft, versions only to those who are authors of the document or to
someone with the Approve Items permission (such as a site administrator). You can change that
Draft Item Security setting and allow anyone with read or edit rights to see drafts if you want, but
that rather defeats the purpose of Content Approval.
Cancel Approval When you click this button and Content Approval is enabled, the selected
document item will be demoted from a whole number to a decimal number, or draft version
(rather like unpublishing, but approval has been explicitly revoked). And in that case, if draft
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search