Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
If you select a document in the list, it will activate the Documents ribbon and enable most of
the buttons. The document name field is capable of triggering a drop-down menu at the end
of its column, the same as any item in any list, to edit, view properties, and do other individual
item tasks. You will see some familiar list item options and some new ones (these options can
change depending on the configuration of the library and even the item itself):
View Properties This option is used to see the metadata, or field data, for the library item.
It corresponds to the View Item option in a standard list; however, in this environment, you
should think of the item fields as document properties.
Edit Properties This option lets you edit the metadata of the library item.
Edit In Microsoft Office Word As the option says, it allows you to open the library item’s
attached file for editing in Microsoft Word. For this to work, of course, you must have Word
installed locally on the machine with which you are browsing the site. This menu item is also
triggered when you simply click the name of the library item. The menu item will reflect the
type of the attached file (if SharePoint can identify it).
Check Out This option locks a document from being checked out and makes it read-only for
everyone but the person checking it out. This helps limit the amount of overlapping work that
might be done on a document simultaneously. When a user is done with a document, they can
check it back in, making it available to be edited by someone else. Check Out is not required by
default. If it is required, then no document can be edited unless it is checked out. Thus, to edit
a document, a user must check it out; otherwise, it will be read-only. Check Out can be
overridden by someone with the permission to do so, usually an administrator or list manager.
Alert Me This setting is the same as for standard lists; it means you can configure email
notification if there are changes made to library items, based on a limited set of criteria, such
as changes made only to documents you created or to all documents.
Send To This menu option has several functions. Items in a library can be sent to other
libraries and locations. As SharePoint and its document libraries have evolved, libraries have
become more connected to other libraries and site resources; a document workspace can be
generated from a document in a library, or finished documents from a library can be sent to a
final archive library.
By default, Send To offers the options to email a link, create a document workspace for the
document, download a copy, or send a copy of the document to another location (such as a
different library). There is also an option in the overall library settings to define a custom library or
location to use as a default place to send a copy of the document. Documents sent to a different
library can be updated with changes from the original library. The secondary location is
generally meant to be an archive. What that means is the secondary location cannot update changes
made to the document copy there back to the original library. The updates are only one-way.
Manage Permission This option lets you apply unique permissions to the library item.
Because all objects on the site inherit that site’s permissions, you first would break inherited
permissions and then alter the permissions for the item to it.
Delete This is the option that removes the document and its library item from the library and
puts it in the user’s SharePoint Recycle Bin. Remember that when things are deleted from lists or
libraries, they are not completely gone until either they are also removed from the Recycle Bin or
the Recycle Bin times out and all items of a certain age are deleted (30 days by default).