Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Folders are essentially containers. They can contain library items or other folders. Adding a folder
and double-clicking it essentially “opens” it so you can add documents to it. This lets you organize
your documents and lets users who prefer file shares be more comfortable. However, there is one
interesting thing about folders and SharePoint. Have you noticed that there is no Move button or
menu item?
So, what do you do if you have a document in the library, you have made a folder, and now you want
to put that document in that folder?
Well, you could edit the document and then Save As specifically to that folder in the library (but
that would leave you with two copies, one in the folder and one not—until you deleted the first one).
You could download the file and then upload it to the folder (by opening the folder first and then
clicking the Upload button). Or you could drag and drop it.
That’s right—Explorer to the rescue. The easiest way to move files around in a library is to open the
library in Explorer. Then just drag and drop the file into the folder (or back out again). Keep in mind
that, if the library requires check out, moving files might mark them as checked out
Requiring Checkout
As I’ve mentioned before, a document that is marked Checked Out (in a standard view,
a checked-out document is indicated by a green arrow on the bottom-right corner of the
Document Type icon) is set to be read-only for everyone but the person who checked the item
out. When you check out a document, only you are allowed to edit it until it’s checked back in.
Requiring Check Out is a good thing. If it is set, then users cannot open a document without
explicitly choosing to check it out for editing (which locks it for everyone else) or to open it only
for reading. If you don’t check out a document when Check Out is required, then all you can do
is read it, and changes made to it cannot be saved back to the library.
YOU CAN USE FORCE
Don’t panic. As an administrator, you can force a document to be checked in if someone leaves the
company with a document checked out or simply forgets to check a document back in for too long.
Their changes will be discarded, but at least the document will be available for others to work on
it. I’ll cover this a little later in this section.
Keep in mind that there is an issue with allowing Check Out to be voluntary. A user can
choose to check out a document they are editing by clicking Check Out on the document’s
selection box drop-down menu before opening it or by choosing to check the document out when
prompted by Word when it is being opened. However, this can be a hit-or-miss thing, because
they can still edit the document even if it is not checked out, and, meanwhile, so can anyone
else. This means that if Require Check Out is not enabled and the user forgets to check out the
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search