Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
4. When you try to close the program, you will be prompted (see Figure 8.17) to check in the
document so others can see the changes. If you save but don’t check in the document, it
will still be set to Read Only for everyone else, allowing you to continue to edit the
document without anyone else accessing it until you check it in. Also, your saved changes will
not be visible to anyone else until the document is checked in.
FIGURE 8.17
The Check In
prompt after
editing a document
If another user clicks the Check Out button, a dialog box informs them that the document is
checked out by someone else (Figure 8.18). They could save a copy of the file locally and work on
it there; however, that is not a good idea because it doesn’t show the changes of the version
currently being edited by the person who has it checked out.
FIGURE 8.18
Read Only or
Notify dialog box
options
OLD SCHOOL
In Word 2003, if you open a document that is checked out, you don’t really get any warnings. It only
lets you know that the document is set to Read Only after you try to save the changes you made
after opening it.
That leaves us with the need to check that document back in.
Checking In a Document
There are two ways to check in a document: within the Library content page by selecting Check
In on the drop-down menu for the item (or selecting the item and clicking the Check In button
in the Documents ribbon) or after you save changes and are closing out of Word. For example,
our newdoc file is checked out and open in Word. Go ahead and save the document back to the
library. You will be prompted to check it back in (Figure 8.19).
FIGURE 8.19
Check In dialog
box for version
comments
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search