Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
There are seven existing site definitions:
Blog (for blog sites)
•u
CENTRALADMIN (for the Central Administration site)
•u
MPS (for meeting sites)
•u
sgs (for SharePoint group work sites)
•u
sts (for SharePoint team sites)
•u
TenantAdmin (for tenant admin pages, used with multi-tenant hosting)
•u
Wiki (in case there are older WSS 3.0 wiki sites; deprecated)Site definitions have their own
v4.master file, which is a master page that determines the layout of their web pages.
A site template takes all the potential of its site definition and narrows that down to its own
application of the layout, theme, prebuilt lists, web parts, and so on, of that definition. For example, you
can have a Meeting Workspace site definition and from that make a template for a social, basic, or
decision meeting workspace. Each one is based on the same definition but laid out differently based
on the presumed use. All have the same potential; they just apply it differently for your convenience.
This explains why everything in SharePoint looks so similar and has the same interface. Many of the
sites are using the same site definition under their particular theme and template. It also explains
why meetings, wikis, and blogs look different from normal team sites.
D E L E T E T H I S S I T E
The last option under Site Actions is to simply delete the site, as shown in Figure 9.23.
Deleting a site is not something you do lightly, because it deletes the entire site—all web
parts, lists, discussions, document libraries, documents in the libraries, customizations, unique
permissions, you name it. Sites don’t go to the Recycle Bin; if you delete a site, it will be deleted
permanently. There is no Undo, no Recycle Bin, and no chance to correct a mistaken deletion.
Make sure you’ve salvaged anything you need from the site before you destroy it. For example,
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search