Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
definition is ever updated, upgraded, or changed, none of that will apply to this now-custom page.
So, unlike other pages in the site collection, this page will have no site definition at all.
Allow Owners and Designers to Customize Master Pages and Page Layouts This grants
owners and designers the ability to change the master page for a site, making sweeping
changes to the look and layout of pages in the site. This runs the risk of causing the site’s
appearance to break from organizational standards for sites (particularly if this is done
differently for numerous sites in a site collection). Pages can also be broken if content regions
or other important page structures are deleted. This setting, if disabled, causes master page
and page layout to not display in the navigation pane in SharePoint Designer.
Allow Owners and Designers to See Hidden URL Structure of Their Web Site
Allowing users to view and edit all the files in the URL structure is also really powerful.
This lets them see and edit all the files in the site, including the critical “background” files
(such as templates, support files, and so on)—these can then be edited or deleted,
potentially breaking the site completely. If this option is disabled, owners and designers will
not see the All Files option in the navigation pane of SharePoint Designer.
Obviously, just letting designers and site owners edit the site in SharePoint Designer is a
powerful tool. The additional three check boxes extend that power to profound levels and should be
checked only with extreme caution. By default, site administrators have these powers, even if
the boxes are unchecked. To prevent site administrators from using SharePoint Designer, you
need to make changes at the web application level, as discussed later in this chapter.
V I S U A L U P G R A D E
This page applies only when you’re working on a server that was upgraded from WSS 3.0.
During the upgrade process, if you choose an “in-place” upgrade, you have the option to either
apply the visual update to WSS 3.0 sites (change their appearance to the new SPF user interface)
or leave the sites alone (and still running the WSS 3.0 interface). For a database-attach upgrade,
leaving the sites alone with the option to visually upgrade is the default.
When you leave the interface alone, any site still running a WSS 3.0 interface will have an
option to run the visual-upgrade process on that site, from its Site Settings. In addition, when
the visual upgrade has not permanently been applied, you can choose to view a site with the
visual upgrade on but not apply it. This is good to test templates, web parts, and features to be
sure they work with the upgraded interface. So, you can go between working in the old
interface, then take a look at the new one, and back again, before committing to applying the new
interface. The Visual Upgrade page (Figure 10.17) allows you to do two things to all the sites in
the site collection that have not received the Visual Upgrade yet:
Hide Visual Upgrade Option This will turn off the option in Site Settings to upgrade to the
new SharePoint Foundation user interface. So, individual sites will not be able to see the site
with the upgraded changes.
Apply the New User Interface to All Sites This will run the visual upgrade on all sites in
the site collection, giving them all the new SharePoint Foundation look and feel.