Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Site Use Confirmation And Deletion is focused on enabling usage confirmation first and
sending a notification email to the site collection administrators for confirmation about the site.
Once confirmation is enabled, however, you can also enable automatic deletion of site collections
that don’t get confirmation of activity over a certain number of notifications. Turning on email
notifications will send the emails on a set schedule, prompting the site collection administrator
either to confirm that the site collection is in use or to delete the site collection.
This page is a bit misleading because it implies that it will send notifications to only those
site collections that it senses, somehow, are not active. This is not the case. When email
notifications are enabled, every single site collection, regardless of popularity, will be subjected to
notification emails.
The emails are sent after the number of days you specify have passed since the site collection
was created—or since the last time the administrator confirmed use. This specified time can be
anywhere between 30 and 365 days. The server can scan for, and send email to, site collections
that are due for an email notification on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
If the server sends email notifications on a daily basis and a site administrator does not
respond to the first email notification, the server will send another one the next day. The server
won’t wait another 30+ days; the site is considered “stale” until it’s confirmed in use or deleted.
You can also turn on automatic deletion (deletion isn’t required, but to delete, notification
is required first). After a set number of email notifications have been sent with no response,
the server will automatically delete the site collection. This set number of notifications can be
between 28 and 168 email notifications.
Enabling automatic deletion is a wise decision if you’re going to enable self-service site
creation (which we’ll discuss later). However, there is a risk to turning on automatic deletion: it
affects all the site collections in a web application, including your main site (Company Site in my
example). Because of this, it is strongly recommended you do not enable automatic deletion on
the web application that hosts your main site collection or any other mission-critical permanent
site collections. Instead, if you need it for self-service sites or other reasons, such as hosting
temporary public site collections, you should create a separate web application, put those temporary
site collections there, and then enable automatic deletion for them.
Quota Templates
Because SharePoint is meant for users to store data and documents, it can take up more space
than expected very quickly. The two main ways to prevent site collections from consuming too
much storage space are quotas and locks. Both can be configured on site collections, so you can
have different disk quotas for different collections, and you can lock specific collections without
locking others.
You can manually set site quotas on a particular site collection, or you can create quota
templates to use for quick assignment (or to have a quota automatically assigned during self-service
site creation). It’s a good idea to create site quota templates so you have some consistency and
don’t need to keep entering quota settings manually for each site collection.
To create a new quota template, go to Central Administration’s Application Management
page, and in the Site Collections category, click Specify Quota Templates. This will take you to
the page shown in Figure 10.20.
Using this page, you can create a new template or edit an existing one. Each template needs a
name and a storage size limit. You can also set the server to email the site administrators when
the site collection reaches a certain size to warn them that they are approaching that limit.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search