Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
That’ll take you back to the Delete Site Collection page, which will be propagated with the
site collection’s information. To continue with the site collection deletion, click Delete at the
bottom of the page (Figure 11.15).
FIGURE 11.15
Deleting the
selected site
collection
That will permanently delete the site collection and everything it contained. Before doing
something so drastic, it is always a good idea to make a backup, just in case.
C O N F I R M S I T E U S E A N D D E L E T I O N
The Site Use Confirmation And Deletion page setting is useful when users create their own site
collections. Although this method is not the most useful or fanciest, Site Use Confirmation And
Deletion lets you determine whether and when site collection owners should be contacted to
confirm that their site collection is still being used (Figure 11.16). You can even set it so that the
site collection can be permanently deleted if the contact does not respond to the confirmation
email in a certain number of requests.
For detailed step-by-steps instructions and descriptions about site use and confirmation, see
Chapter 10.
SITE VS. SITE COLLECTION
Sometimes SharePoint says site when it really means site collection , as is the case with the Site Use
Confirmation And Deletion page. This is because in prior versions of SharePoint, and in IIS, a site
is a site collection, and a subsite is called a web or subweb . These old naming conventions also exist
in the STSADM and PowerShell commands.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search