Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Closing a File
Saving Files Before Closing
As a standard practice, you should save files before closing them. However, Office has
an added safeguard: if you attempt to close a file without saving your changes, a dialog
box opens, asking whether you want to save the file. Click the Save button to save the
changes to the file before closing the file and program. Click the Don’t Save button to
close the file and program without saving changes. Click the Cancel button to return
to the program window without saving changes or closing the file and program. This
feature helps to ensure that you always save the most current version of any file.
Closing a File
Although you can keep multiple fi les open at one time, you should close any fi le you are
no longer working on to conserve system resources as well as to ensure that you don’t
inadvertently make changes to the fi le. You can close a fi le by clicking the Close
command in Backstage view. If that’s the only fi le open for the program, the program window
remains open and no fi le appears in the window. You can also close a fi le by clicking the
Close button in the upper-right corner of the title bar. If that’s the only fi le open for the
program, the program also closes.
You’ll add the date to the agenda. Then, you’ll attempt to close it without saving.
To modify and close the Agenda document:
1. Type today’s date, and then press the Enter key. The text you typed appears
below your name in the document.
2. On the Ribbon, click the File tab to open Backstage view, and then click the Close
command in the navigation bar. A dialog box opens, asking whether you want to
save the changes you made to the document.
3. Click the Save button. The current version of the document is saved to the file,
and then the document closes. Word is still open, so you can create additional
new files in the open program or you can open previously created and saved files.
Opening a File
When you want to open a blank document, workbook, presentation, or database, you
create a new fi le. When you want to work on a previously created fi le, you must fi rst
open it. Opening a fi le transfers a copy of the fi le from the storage location (either a hard
drive or a portable drive) to the computer’s memory and displays it on your screen. The
fi le is then in your computer’s memory and on the drive.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search