Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Using the Clear command
When you delete a cell, column, or row by right-clicking it, Excel displays a menu.
The Delete dialogue box provides
multiple options for deleting cells.
To delete selected rows:
1
Click the row 8 header and drag down through to row 15.
2
Click Home. In the Cells group, select Delete.
You can always click the Undo button ( ) on the Quick Access Toolbar if you delete something
by mistake.
In your current spreadsheet, you should only have four columns and seven rows
with text.
Using the Clear command
In the Editing group, the Clear button ( ) has a unique function in Excel. For example, you
may need to remove an entry while retaining the cell format. This is when you would want
to use the Clear command. When you click the Clear button, Excel displays a drop-down
menu of ering six options that perform a clearing operation.
OPTION
DESCRIPTION
Clear All
Removes both the contents and formatting assigned to the current cell
selection.
Clear Formats
Removes just the formatting assigned to the current cell selection
without removing the contents.
Clear Contents
Removes just the contents in the current cell selection without removing
the formatting assigned to it. This has the same effect as pressing the
Delete key.
Clear Comments
Removes just the comments assigned to the cells in the selection
without changing the contents or the formatting.
Clear Hyperlinks
Removes hyperlinks from the cells in the selection without removing the
formatting.
Remove Hyperlinks
Removes both the hyperlinks and their formatting.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search