Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Recovering Your Work
Recovering Your Work
If you’ve used computers for any length of time, you’ve probably lost some work. You forgot to
save a file, or maybe the power went out and your unsaved work was lost. Or maybe you were
working on something and didn’t think it was important, so you closed it without saving — and
later realized that it was important. The new Versions feature in Excel 2010 can make these types
of “doh!” moments less frequent.
As you work in Excel, your work is periodically saved, automatically. It happens in the
background, so you don’t even know that it’s happening. New in Excel 2010 is the ability to access
these autosaved versions of your work. And this ability even applies to workbooks that you never
explicitly saved.
The Versions feature consists of two components:
h Versions of a workbook are saved automatically, and you can view them.
h Workbooks that you closed without saving are saved as draft versions.
Recovering versions of the current workbook
To see whether any previous versions of the current workbook are available, choose File
Info.
The section labeled Versions lists the available old versions (if any) of the current workbook.
Figure 14-1 shows that two autosaved versions of the active workbook are available.
You can open an autosaved version by clicking its name. Remember that opening an autosaved
version won’t automatically replace the current version of your workbook. Therefore, you can
decide whether the autosaved version is preferable to the current version. Or, you can just copy
some information that may have been accidentally deleted and paste it to your current workbook.
When you close the workbook, the autosaved versions are deleted.
Recovering unsaved work
When you close a workbook without saving your changes, Excel asks whether you’re sure. If that
unsaved workbook has an autosaved version, the “Are you sure?” dialog box informs you of that
fact, as shown in Figure 14-2.
To recover a workbook that you closed without saving, choose File
Versions and choose
Recover Draft Versions. You see a list of all draft versions of your workbooks. You can open them
and (hopefully) recover something that you needed. These drafts are also listed in the recent file
list, displayed when you choose File
Info
Recent.
Remember that draft versions are deleted after four days, or until you edit the file.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search