Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Deleting a record
If you no longer need a record, you can delete it. When you delete a record all
the tracking items (phone logs, notes, and such) are deleted right along with
If you added a contact to an account, the contact remains in the Contacts list
even if you delete the account. When you delete an Account, Contact, or
Opportunity record, however, you’re also deleting all tracking items linked to
them — such as phone logs and notes — and it will not be possible to restore
those items. Proceed with caution!
Opportunities must be associated with either a Contact or an Account. If you
want to continue tracking an existing Opportunity with a different Contact or
Account, associate the Opportunity with a different Account or Contact
before you delete the existing Account or Contact.
Deleting a Product from an Opportunity deletes only that copy of the Product.
If the Product also appears in the Products list, it will remain there safely.
Here’s all you need to do to delete a record:
1. Click Business Contact Manager from the Office Live Home page
The Business Contact Manager dashboard opens.
2. Click the appropriate tab to access the list.
3. Click the drop-down list next to the record you’d like to delete, and
then click Delete Item.
4. Click OK to the warning.
Your contact is now gone — but not forgotten. When you delete a record
in Business Contact Manager, Office Live sends it off to the Recycle Bin —
just in case! If you’re not sure how the Office Live Recycle Bin works, turn
to Chapter 11.
Working with Datasheets
So far this chapter has discussed various ways in which Business Contact
Manager can help you become more efficient and organized. You’re probably
raring to go. You’ve started to enter Accounts, Contacts — but wait. Your
work has suddenly come screeching to a halt. Entering a bunch of records
one at a time is tedious — and takes an exorbitant amount of time. Inquiring
minds want to know — there must be an easier way!