Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Hey — check this out!
The Check-Out option prevents multiple people from making changes to the
same document at the same time. When a document is subject to a lot of
modification, this feature avoids the confusion that can lead to frustration
and a lot of nasty words.
When you create a new file or add a new file to a library and you require
check-out, you must check it in before other people can see it. Then whoever
else wants to edit the document must check it out — at which point that
person has sole access to the file.
When check-out is required, you cannot add files or change files (or change
file properties) without first checking out the file. When you check in a file,
you’re prompted to provide comments about the changes you’ve made,
which helps create a more meaningful version history.
When a file is checked out, no one can edit it except for the person who
checked it out. The document’s icon changes to include a green arrow,
indicating that the file is checked out; when you rest your mouse pointer on it, the
name of the person who checked out the file appears in a ScreenTip. Although
you can still view the file, you can’t change it or see the changes that someone
else makes. The status of the file changes automatically to Draft.
Here’s what you need to know about how to check out a document — and
check it back in again:
1. Find the library or list that contains the document, click the
document’s drop-down list, and choose Edit Document.
It’s pretty easy to tell if a document requires check-out; when you try
to open the document for editing, you receive the message shown in
Figure 16-6.
Figure 16-6:
This
document
requires
check-out.
2. Click OK at the prompt and begin to edit the document.
When you open the document for editing, it opens in the corresponding
software. For example, a Word document opens in Word.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search