Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Roles and Permissions
Roles and Permissions
On their own, users have no permissions; instead permissions are grouped
into Roles, which are then assigned to users. All registered users who log in,
automatically receive permissions from the authenticated user role (which is
available by default) combined with additional roles that we decide to assign to
them; users who are not logged in or are first time users are considered anonymous.
The two default roles available are:
Anonymous users
Authenticated users
These roles can be edited but they cannot be renamed nor can they be deleted
because they are used automatically by Drupal; that is why the operations column in
the table below is locked :
The permissions primarily relate to users being able to manage and administer
individual modules or sub-modules within Drupal.
There are four main types of access control used in various permissions:
Access —This allows a user to use a module but not change how it functions.
Administer —This allows the user to change the function of a module and
should only be given to trusted users, and certainly never to anonymous users.
Create —This allows the user to create specific types of content, but not edit
the content they create. Particularly useful if we were to have a user purely
for creating products.
Edit own —This provides the user with the ability to modify content they
have created, for instance being able to edit products the user has added.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search