Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Much Ado about Undo
Undo is Redo the second time around
After using the Undo command button on the Quick Access toolbar, Excel
2013 activates the Redo command button to its immediate right. If you delete
an entry from a cell by pressing the Delete key and then click the Undo
command button or press Ctrl+Z, the ScreenTip that appears when you position
the mouse pointer over the Redo command button reads Redo Clear (Ctrl+Y).
When you click the Redo command button or press Ctrl+Y, Excel redoes the
thing you just undid. Actually, this sounds more complicated than it is. It
simply means that you use Undo to switch between the result of an action
and the state of the worksheet just before that action until you decide how
you want the worksheet (or until the cleaning crew turns off the lights and
locks up the building).
What to do when you can’t Undo?
Just when you think it is safe to begin gutting the company’s most important
workbook, I really feel that I have to tell you that (yikes!) Undo doesn’t work
all the time! Although you can undo your latest erroneous cell deletion, bad
move, or unwise copy, you can’t undo your latest rash save. (You know, like
when you meant to choose Save As from the File menu in the Backstage view
to save the edited worksheet under a different document name but chose Save
and ended up saving the changes as part of the current document.)
Unfortunately, Excel doesn’t let you know when you are about to take a step
from which there is no return — until it’s too late. After you’ve gone and
done the un-undoable and you click the Undo button where you expect its
ScreenTip to say Undo blah, blah , it now reads Can’t Undo.
One exception to this rule is when the program gives you advance warning
(which you should heed). When you choose a command that is normally
possible but because you’re low on memory or the change will affect so much
of the worksheet, or both, Excel knows that it can’t undo the change if it
goes through with it, the program displays an alert box telling you that there
isn’t enough memory to undo this action and asking whether you want to go
ahead anyway. If you click the Yes button and complete the edit, just realize
that you do so without any possibility of pardon. If you find out, too late, that
you deleted a row of essential formulas (that you forgot about because you
couldn’t see them), you can’t bring them back with Undo. In such a case, you
would have to close the file (File ➪ Close) and NOT save your changes.