Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Manage conversations
Conversation view settings include:
Show Messages from Other Folders By default, Conversation view displays
messages stored in any folder, including sent messages that are stored in the Sent
Items folder. (Within the expanded conversation, sent messages are indicated by
italic font.) You can turn off this setting to display only messages from the current
folder.
Show Senders Above the Subject By default, when a conversation is collapsed, the
conversation header displays the names of all the conversation participants above
the conversation subject; when the conversation is fully expanded, the conversation
header displays only the subject. This setting reverses the order of the
information in the conversation header; the names of the conversation participants are
displayed above the conversation subject. In some cases, such as when Outlook
displays a message on the second line, the subject might not be visible at all.
Always Expand Selected Conversation This setting causes Outlook to display all
messages in a conversation when you click the Expand Conversation button or
conversation header once.
Use Classic Indented View This setting causes Outlook to indent older messages
within individual message threads to show the progression of the thread. This
setting is not as effective as the default for displaying split conversations because a
message might be at the root of multiple branches but can appear only once in the
message list.
With Conversation view, you can manage all the messages within a conversation as a
group. You can do this by clicking the conversation header to effectively select all the
messages in the conversation (they won’t appear selected, but, for example, moving the
conversation header to another folder moves all the individual messages in the
conversation) and then applying your action. Or you can use these very useful
conversationmanagement tools:
Ignore Conversation This command moves the selected conversation and any
related messages you receive in the future directly to the Deleted Items folder.
Clean Up Conversation This command deletes redundant messages—messages
whose text is wholly contained within later messages—from a conversation. By
default, Outlook doesn’t clean up categorized, lagged, or digitally signed messages.
You can modify conversation clean-up settings on the Mail page of the Outlook
Options dialog box.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search