Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Checking Out and Checking In a Document
Checking Out and Checking In a Document
When you open a document you’ve saved to SharePoint Workspace 2010, the message bar
lets you know the status of the document. If the document is currently checked in to the
server, it will be unavailable for you to edit. You can click Check Out in the message bar to
check the file out of the server site and open it in SharePoint Workspace 2010 (see Figure
21-8). While the file is checked out to you, no one else will be able to edit it.
Figure 21-8 Use the message bar to check out a file and open it in SharePoint Workspace 2010.
You can edit the file normally, applying formats, adding content, including all the elements,
styles, diagrams, and more that you would include in any Word document. When you are
ready to save the file back to the server, click the File tab to display Backstage view. The
Check In area on the Info tab lets you know the status of the file (see Figure 21-9). You
can click Check In to sync the file with the server and return it to checked in status, or, if
you didn’t make changes to the file or want to abandon what you’ve done, you can click
Discard Check Out.
Figure 21-9 Click Check In to check the file back in to the server or click Discard Check Out to
abandon your changes.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search