Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Editing Simultaneously and Saving Changes
permissions to give your co-authors access to the document. Then open the document
normally, in Windows Live SkyDrive or SharePoint Workspaces.
Chapter 21, “Sharing Your Documents,” explains how to set permissions and share documents
on SharePoint Workspaces and Windows Live SkyDrive.
When a co-author first logs into the file on which you are both working, Word displays a
small alert message in the lower portion of your screen. You can click the message if you
want to contact your co-author immediately; otherwise, simply edit the file as normal.
Tip
If you are using SharePoint Workspace 2010, you can open a Word file and work with
your co-authors without any other tools. If you are a home user, you need to post your
Word document to your Windows Live SkyDrive account and use the Word Web App
to open and edit the document. To find out more about the Word Web App, see
Chapter 25, “Blogging and Using the Word Web App.”
Editing Simultaneously and Saving Changes
You can edit the document normally as you work alongside your co-authors. The edits
appear in balloons, along with your contact name, letting your co-author know where the
changes are being made in the document. Word will prompt you to save the file to update
all changes so that you will be able to see the changes your co-authors are making as well
(see Figure 22-11).
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search