Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Recovering Draft Versions of Your Files
Keep in mind that the AutoRecover feature isn’t a replacement for saving your files.
AutoRecover only temporarily saves changes made to active documents. It is specifically a
tool designed to help you recover a file after a system crash. You need to continue to save
and back up your documents regularly.
Note
By default, Word does not automatically create backup files. To turn on the automatic
backup feature, select the Always Create Backup Copy check box in the Save section on
the Advanced tab in Word Options. The backup copy will have the words, Backup Of,
added at the beginning of the file name and will have a .wbk file extension. Note the
backup copy is a version of the document that you saved prior to the most recent save.
If you experience a system crash while working in Word, the application displays a
Document Recovery task pane along the left side of the Word window after you restart your
system and reopen Word. The Recovery task pane shows up to three versions (Recovered,
AutoSaved, and Original) of each Word file that was open at the time of the crash. The
most current version (usually the recovered version) is shown at the top of the group of
related files. You can select which files you want to save from among the recovered versions
of documents that appear in the Document Recovery task pane.
To open a recovered document, click the entry in the Document Recovery task pane or click
the arrow next to the item then click Open. In addition, you can save or delete a recovered
file or view repairs made to a recovered file by clicking the item’s arrow and then selecting
the desired command.
Recover the Most Recent Versions of Files
W hen you see versions of the same file listed in the Document Recovery task
pane’s Available Files list box, keep in mind that an AutoRecover file is usually in
better shape than an original file. Be sure to check the Last Saved time listed with each
recovered document to verify that you’re recovering the most recent version. If later
during the same session you determine that you would rather use a different version,
click the Recovered button on the status bar to reopen the Document Recovery task
pane.
After you’ve made your recovery decisions, click Close in the lower-right corner of the
Document Recovery task pane to close the pane. If you determine that you want to use a
different recovered document after you’ve closed the Document Recover task pane, click
the Recovered button on the status bar to reopen the task pane.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search