Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
By default, after you save a baseline the first time, a summary task’s baseline
data isn’t updated if you make changes to a subtask below it, even if you
delete a subtask. However, you can change that functionality by making a
choice about how the baseline rolls up data. You can choose to have
modifications rolled up to all summary tasks or only from subtasks for any
summary tasks that you select. This second option works only if you’ve selected
summary tasks but not selected their subtasks.
You can save a baseline by following these steps:
1. If you want to save a baseline for only certain tasks, select them.
2. Choose Tools
Set Baseline.
The Set Baseline dialog box appears with the Set Baseline option
selected, as shown in Figure 12-3.
Figure 12-3:
This dialog
box is used
and interim
3. Select the Entire Project or the Selected Tasks radio button.
4. Make selections for how the baseline rolls up, or summarizes, changes
to task data.
You can have changed data summarized in all summary tasks or only for
the summary tasks that you select.
5. Click OK to set the baseline.
What if I want more than one baseline?
I know you love to hear about features in Project 2007 that you might never
take full advantage of. (Who doesn’t?) Here’s one: You can save your baseline
up to 11 times during the life of your project. That’s 11 potentially
catastrophic events you can adjust for by resaving your baseline!
Search JabSto ::

Custom Search