Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
For example, if you have a project that takes four years from beginning to
end, you might want to save a new baseline every year because costs go up
or resources change. Then you can see incremental versions of your
estimates that reflect the changes you made based on changes in the real world.
Or, perhaps you start your project with a wonderful, well-thought-out
baseline plan, but a week later, the entire industry shuts down with a massive
strike that goes on for three months. All your original estimates of timing
would be bogus, so it’s better to make adjustments to your plan, save a new
baseline, and move ahead after the strike is resolved.
To clear an existing baseline, follow these steps:
1. If you want to clear the baseline for only certain tasks, select them.
2. Choose Tools
Clear Baseline.
The Clear Baseline dialog box appears with the Clear Baseline Plan
option selected by default, as shown in Figure 12-5.
Tracking
Figure 12-5:
Use this to
clear the
baseline or
interim plan.
3. From the Clear Baseline Plan drop-down list, choose the baseline that
you want to clear.
4. Select either the Entire Project radio button to clear the baseline for
the entire project or the Selected Tasks radio button for selected tasks.
5. Click OK.
The project baseline or selected tasks are cleared.
In the Interim
An interim plan is sort of like Baseline Lite. With an interim plan, you save
only the actual start and finish dates of tasks that have had activity tracked
on them as well as the baseline start and finish dates for all unstarted tasks.
Why save an interim plan rather than a baseline? An interim plan saves only
timing information. If that’s all you need, why save all the data about
resource assignments and costs and so on? (Keep in mind that you’ll end up
with a huge file if you save a large number of baselines.)
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search