Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Reverting to a Previous State
2. Click the Create button near the bottom of the window.
3. On the next screen, type in a name for your Restore Point and click Create.
After you click the Create button, the Restore Point immediately begins taking
a snapshot of your system. A progress screen displays and notifies you when
the snapshot is complete. In my experience it takes only a few minutes at most
to create a Restore Point. Sometimes it takes less than a minute.
Next, I show you how to use the Restore Point to revert to an earlier point.
Reverting to a Previous State
The second half of using System Restore is using the Restore functionality to
return your computer to a previous state.
Before proceeding, it is important to understand that System Restore doesn’t
delete any of your personal documents such as photos, music, and Microsoft
Word documents when you revert to a previous state. However, all system
changes made between points, such as installing new drivers and new software,
are wiped out. It is advisable to close all open applications before restoring your
computer.
Now that you know what to watch out for, follow these steps to restore your
computer to a previous Restore Point:
1. Open the Start screen, type in rstrui.exe , and hit Enter.
2. After the System Restore utility has loaded, click Next on the first screen.
3. You will now see a list with the date, time, and a description of each
Restore Point. There is also a Show More Restore Points checkbox on the
screen that I advise checking, so you can see all available System Restore
Points.
4. Find the Restore Point that you want to revert to, select it, and click Next.
5. Check the confirmation page, and then click Finish.
6. Click Yes on the final confirmation screen.
Your computer will now log you off and start the System Restore process.
When it finishes, your computer restarts.
One of the best parts of System Restore is that you can always undo the recent
restore if restoring your computer did not solve your problem or created new
problems. You can undo the recent restore by starting up System Restore again.
After you complete any restore, the Undo option is displayed on the opening
screen of the System Restore utility.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search