Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Clearing the Last User Logon
After you log off, the user will no longer be displayed on the lock screen. If
you want to hide all accounts and just have User Name and Password boxes, the
next section is for you. If you opt for that method, you can hide all accounts and
still log on to them. You just need to remember the username and the password
because no accounts will be listed anymore.
If you ever change your mind and want the account to display on the lock
screen again, just delete the DWORD that you made in the system registry, and
everything will be back to the way it once was.
Clearing the Last User Logon
Every time you boot up your PC, all computer accounts and users who have
logged on to it display on the lock screen. This can be a big security risk because
it shows the usernames of all accounts that someone can try to use to break into
the computer. In addition, the lock screen can become cluttered with many user
accounts. Therefore, it might be a good idea to enable the Do Not Display Last
User Name policy. This policy removes the account list from the lock screen
and turns on the basic User Name and Password boxes, as shown in FigureĀ 5-4.
Figure 5-4: Basic User Name and Password boxes appear on the lock screen.
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search