Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Specifying save options
TABLE 21.3 Save Options
Save ﬁ les in this format
Sets the default ﬁ le format to appear in the Save As dialog box.
Your choices are a regular presentation, a macro-enabled
presentation, or a 97–2003 backward-compatible presentation.
information every x minutes
PowerPoint saves your work every few minutes so that if the
computer has problems and causes PowerPoint to terminate
abnormally, you do not lose much work. Lower this number to save more
often (for less potential data loss) or raise it to save less often (for
less slowdown/delay related to repeated saving).
AutoRecover ﬁ le location
Specify the location in which AutoRecover drafts should be saved.
By default, it is C:\Users\ user name \AppData\Roaming\
Don’t show the
Backstage when opening
or saving ﬁ les
When enabled, bypasses Backstage view (that is, the default File
menu choices for opening and saving) and goes directly to the
Open or Save dialog boxes, respectively.
Show additional places
for saving, even if sign-in
may be required
When disabled, hides the SkyDrive sign-in option; disable this if
you don’t intend to use SkyDrive to save your work.
Save to Computer by
When enabled, saves to your default local ﬁ le location (see the
next option) by default.
Default local ﬁ le location
Specify the location that you want to start from when saving with
the Save As dialog box. By default, it is your Documents library.
Specify the location containing any templates you have created or
acquired separately from the ones PowerPoint itself provides.
Save checked-out ﬁ les to
Sets the location in which any drafts will be saved that you have
checked out of a web server library such as SharePoint. If you
choose “The server drafts location on this computer,” then you
must specify what that location will be in the Server drafts
location box. If you choose to save to the Ofﬁ ce document cache, it’s
not an issue because every save goes immediately back to the
Show detailed merge
changes when a merge
Shows full information about what was changed when you merge
two PowerPoint ﬁ les that are stored on a shared document
Embed fonts in the ﬁ le
Turn this on if you are saving a presentation for use on a different
PC that might not have the fonts installed that the presentation
requires. You can choose to embed the characters in use only
(which minimizes the ﬁ le size, but if someone tries to edit the
presentation, they might not have all of the characters they need) or
to embed all characters in the font set. Unlike the others, this
setting applies only to the current presentation ﬁ le.