Microsoft Office Tutorials and References
In Depth Information
Closing and Reopening Presentations
5. (Optional) If you want your personal information stripped from the fi le, such as
your name removed from the Author fi eld of the Properties box, select the Remove
automatically created personal information from this fi le on save check box.
6. (Optional) If desired, adjust the macro security level for PowerPoint (all fi les, not
just this one) by clicking the Macro Security button and making changes to the
settings in the Trust Center; then click OK to return to the General Options dialog box.
21
7. Click OK. If you specifi ed a password in step 3, a confi rmation box appears for it.
8. If the confi rmation box appears, retype the same password and click OK. If you
specifi ed a password in step 4, a confi rmation box appears for it.
9. If the confi rmation box appears, retype the same password and click OK.
10. Continue saving as you normally would.
When you (or someone else) open the fi le, a Password prompt appears. The Open password
must be entered to open the presentation fi le. The Modify password will not work. After
that hurdle, if you have set a separate Modify password, a prompt for that appears. Your
choices are to enter the Modify password, to cancel, or to click the Read-Only option to
open the presentation in Read-Only mode.
Here’s a security hole to be aware of: If you add a Modify password to a PPTX i le and then save it as a .pptx i le,
it can be opened and edited in PowerPoint 2003 or earlier if you installed the Compatibility Pack that allows opening
of .pptx i les, even if the user does not know the password. However, if you save the i le in PowerPoint 2013 as a
PowerPoint 97–2003 i le (PPT i le), it cannot be edited in earlier versions without the password.
Closing and Reopening Presentations
You can have several presentation fi les open at once and switch freely between them, but
this can bog down your computer’s performance somewhat. Unless you are doing some
cutand-paste work, it’s best to have only one presentation fi le open — the one you are actively
working on. It’s easy to close and open presentations as needed.
Closing a presentation
When you exit PowerPoint, the open presentation fi le automatically closes and you’re
prompted to save your changes if you have made any. If you want to close a presentation
fi le without exiting PowerPoint, follow these steps:
1. Choose File
Close. If you have not made any changes to the presentation since
the last time you saved, you’re done. If you have made any changes to the
presentation, you’re prompted to save them.
2. If you don’t want to save your changes, click Don’t Save, and you’re done.
 
Search JabSto ::




Custom Search